

Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma PO Box 470 Pawnee, OK 74058 918.762.3621 communications@pawneenation.org FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

President EchoHawk and John EchoHawk elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

PAWNEE NATION- Friday, April 21, 2023-- Two Pawnee citizens have been selected to be 2023 new members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAA&S). The list of new members was announced yesterday and included Pawnee Business Council President Walter EchoHawk and Native American Rights Fund founder and CEO John EchoHawk. The AAA&S was founded in 1780 by John Adams and more than sixty other "scholar patriots" during the American Revolution to establish institutions that support knowledge gathering for "public good."

According to the AAA&S, their mission, "honors excellence and convenes leaders from every field of human endeavor to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the world, and work together." Academy President David W. Oxtoby said, "With the election of these members, the Academy is honoring excellence, innovation, and leadership and recognizing a broad array of stellar accomplishments."

The two Pawnees join the nearly 270 new members representing academia, arts, industry, policy, research and science who bring, "diverse expertise to meet the pressing challenges and possibilities that America and the world face today," from across the United States and includes forty honorary international members said the Academy Board Chair Nancy C. Andrews.

President EchoHawk said, "I was surprised to be elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. I am humbled to join this body of notable people, including more than two hundred and fifty Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners."

Notable members of the AAA&S include: Benjamin Franklin (elected 1781) and Alexander Hamilton (1791) in the eighteenth century; Ralph Waldo Emerson (1864), Maria Mitchell (1848), and Charles Darwin (1874) in the nineteenth; Albert Einstein (1924), Robert Frost (1931), Margaret Mead (1948), Milton Friedman (1959), Martin Luther King, Jr. (1966), Stephen

Hawking (1984), and Condoleezza Rice (1997) in the twentieth; and, more recently, Bryan Stevenson (2014), M. Temple Grandin (2016), John Legend (2017), Viet Thanh Nguyen (2018), James Fallows (2019), Joan Baez (2020), Sanjay Gupta (2021), and Heather Cox Richardson (2022) and Lin-Manuel Miranda (2023).

The President added, "My field of recognition by the Academy is Public Affairs and Public Policy. I am honored by that recognition for work I rendered as President of the Business Council during my short term in office. I also congratulate another Pawnee citizen, John Echohawk—for he was also elected as a new member for his Nonprofit Leadership work. John is the award-winning Executive Director of the Native American Rights Fund. He serves on the Pawnee Nation's Intergovernmental Affairs Committee and is also a board member of the Pawnee Evening Star Fund."

About the Pawnee Nation- The Pawnee Nation has a long and proud history spanning time immemorial. Early in the 18th century, more than 60,000 members of the Pawnee Nation inhabited the area along the North Platt River in Nebraska. The Pawnee then and now are composed of four distinct bands: the Chaui "Grand," the Kitkehahki "Republican," the Pitahawirata "Tappage" and the Skidi "Wolf" and a unique and traditional government comprised of traditional Nasharos (Chiefs) and an elected Pawnee Business Council. Today, the Pawnee Nation is the largest and most successful employer in Pawnee County and has a long history of providing valuable quality of life and lifesaving opportunities and services to constituents and Pawnee people in the direct service area. Pawnee Nation enterprise has successfully contributed to multi-million-dollar improvements and expansion of healthcare, education, infrastructure, social services, and law enforcement for Pawnee people, constituents, and partners.